Mexico | english

Standards expertise

What is the difference between Type A, B and C standards?

Type A standards are basic safety standards covering basic concepts, design principles and general aspects that can be applied to all machinery.

Example of a Type A standard:

  • EN ISO 12100 - General principles for design

Type B standards are generic safety standards covering safety aspects or one type of safeguard that can be used across a wide range of machinery. However, there are two types of B standards, Type B1 standards for particular safety aspects and Type B2 standards for safeguards.

Examples of Type B1 standards:

  • EN ISO 13849-1/-2 - Safety-related parts of control systems
  • EN ISO 13855 - Positioning of safeguards

Examples of Type B2 standards:

  • EN 574 - Two-hand control devices and
  • EN 953 - Fixed guards 

Type C standards are machine safety standards dealing with details safety requirements for a particular machine or group of machines.

Examples of Type C standards:

  • EN 693 - Hydraulic presses
  • EN 415 - Packaging machines
  • EN 12409 - Thermoforming machines



Pilz de México, S. de R.L. de C.V. Safe Automation
Convento de Actopan 36 Jardines de Santa Mónica
Tlalnepantla, Méx. 54050

Telephone: +52 55 5572 1300

Technical Support

Telephone: +49 711 3409 444